Article Categories















Useful Links






















Did You Know There Was a New Dollar Coin Introduced in 2007?

A new $1 coin was introduced in 2007 as a result of the Presidential Coin Act of 2005, which requires the United States Mint to mint the dollar coins commemorating the service of former United States Presidents in the order in which they served. In 2007, the United States Mint will began production of this dollar coin for circulation. Set to be released around President’s day 2007, will be a new dollar coin with George Washington. Also in 2007, we will see a dollar coin with the next three presidents which were John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. This release schedule is similar to the State Quarter program. About once a quarter, we will see a new design. Like the State Quarter program, the reverse of the coin will stay the same. The reverse of the dollar coin will feature the Statue of Liberty, the slogan “The United States of America” and a one and dollar sign to signify its value of 1 dollar.

The new coins are the same size as the existing Sacagawea dollar coin and will be the same gold color. It will be made of a copper-zinc-manganese-nickel clad copper alloy. The surface of the coin will be treated a little differently to slow the tarnishing process which was a big criticism of the Sacagawea dollar coin. The Sacagawea coin color was changed in an attempt to answer criticisms of the Susan B Anthony Dollar which people confused with a quarter.

Unlike past coins, the obverse will not bear the familiar “In God We Trust” or the date of the coin. Instead, the issue year, mint mark and motto will appear in the edge of the coin. Edge lettering has not been tried on an American coin since 1933. With the lettering now on the edge or side of the coin, the portrait on the obverse will be a little larger than normal.

The new coins are expected to be popular with collectors. The State Quarter program introduced a whole new generation to coin collecting and brought non-active collectors back into collecting.

By law, only those presidents who have been dead for two or more years can appear on a coin. This makes it likely that Bill Clinton and George W Bush will not appear on the coin as they will likely still be alive when there turn comes about. Ronald Reagan, who some people have been pushing for to replace Roosevelt on the dime, will now show up on a coin, assume Ford and Carter die two years before their turn. Presidents who you would never think would ever appear on a coin will now get that chance.

An interesting fact is that Grover Cleveland will show up twice as he served two terms but they were not consecutive. Additionally, George Washington will appear on the new dollar coin, the quarter and dollar bill all at the same time. When Thomas Jefferson has his turn, he will appear on the dollar, but also the current nickel and the two dollar bill. Yes, the two dollar bill is still being produced.

Below is the timeframe for the release of the new dollar coins.

1 George Washington 1789-1797
2 John Adams 1797-1801
3 Thomas Jefferson 1801-1809
4 James Madison 1809-1817  

5 James Monroe 1817-1825
6 John Quincy Adams 1825-1829
7 Andrew Jackson 1829-1837
8 Martin Van Buren 1837-1841  

9 William Henry Harrison 1841
10 John Tyler 1841-1845
11 James K. Polk 1845-1849
12 Zachary Taylor 1849-1850    

13 Millard Fillmore 1850-1853
14 Franklin Pierce 1853-1857
15 James Buchanan 1857-1861
16 Abraham Lincoln 1861-1865  

17 Andrew Johnson 1865-1869
18 Ulysses S. Grant 1869-1877
19 Rutherford B. Hayes 1877-1881
20 James A. Garfield 1893-1897  

21 Chester A. Arthur 1881-1885
22 Grover Cleveland 1885-1889
23 Benjamin Harrison 1889-1893
24 Grover Cleveland 1893-1897

25 William McKinley 1897-1901
26 Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1909
27 William H. Taft 1909-1913
28 Woodrow Wilson 1913-1921

29 Warren Harding 1921-1923
30 Calvin Coolidge 1923-1929
31 Herbert Hoover 1929-1933
32 Franklin Delano Roosevelt 1933-1945  

33 Harry S Truman 1945-1953
34 Dwight David Eisenhower 1953-1961
35 John F. Kennedy 1961-1963
36 Lyndon B. Johnson 1963-1969  

37 Richard M. Nixon 1969-1974
38 Gerald Ford 1974-1977

Keith Scott has been a collector for over 30 years. His website has US coins for sale. He also writes Coin Collecting Articles for fun. Visit his websites for a history of US coins, metal market updates and news about your favorite coins.

Want to discuss the Presidential Dollar?  Join my coin forum.

Coin News